2013 David P. Byar Young Investigator Award Winners

The David P. Byar Young Investigator Award is given annually to a new researcher in the Biometrics Section who presents an original manuscript at the Joint Statistical Meetings. The award commemorates David Byar, a renowned biostatistician who made significant contributions to the development and application of statistical methods during his career at the National Cancer Institute.

The Byar Award Committee consisted of Dianne Finkelstein (Committee Chair, Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard University), Jianwen Cai (University of North Carolina), Mike Daniels (University of Texas at Austin), Timothy Johnson (University of Michigan), Guosheng Yin (University of Hong Kong), and David Schoenfeld (Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard University).  Through a comprehensive review process of 40 submissions, the committee chose five travel award winners in addition to the Byar Award winner. 

David P Byar Young Investigator Award

Byar Award winner Lee with Award Chair Diane Finkelstein

Travel Awards


Travel Awards

Byar Award winner will receive a $1,500 cash award and Travel Award winners each will receive an $800 cash award to present their papers at the JSM.

The ASA Biometrics Section congratulates the award winners and committee members for their superb work.

Byar Award and Travel Award Winners (Voorman and Hyun not pictured)

Travel Award winner Hyun with Byar Award Chair Diane Finkelstein